Weigh-In: Week 1 of 30 Day Shred Complete!

photo (21)

Dear Jillian Michaels,

I’m sorry about all the mean things I have said to you under my breath this week. I hope you know that I’m just a silly fluffy girl who secretly hopes that an all-carb and cheese diet will magically work someday for optimal weight loss. Now that I know that you know what you’re doing, I will stop wishing you’d trip and fall on your face when you start moving towards me on the screen to tell me that there’s only a few reps left (even though that’s a lie).

Love always, Mariana.

I can’t believe I have already completed SEVEN 30 Day Shred workouts! I started last Monday with Level 1 at 5:30 am each day. The first couple of days I thought “huh, not so bad!” minus the push ups and jump rope, those will always just suck. On Wednesday morning, however, I pushed myself a little harder and that’s when I really started to feel the burn! I have been doing mostly modified versions of the exercises but I went full force with all of the strength exercises and then I really learned why it’s called a 30 day SHRED. The best part about this challenge has been the amount of good, deep sleep I get every night now. Waking up to the shred and then a full day of work and family has me POOPED. I hit the pillow every night feeling like I’ve used every cell in my body.

In addition to the Shred, I also did 5 days of Jillian Michael’s Detox. I’ve been feeling a little puffy lately and this is a detox that is meant to help flush out water weight. You’re supposed to do it for 7 days but I only made it through 5 days since it was easier to do it at work instead of at home. In the end, I think it was a little helpful and it wasn’t a true detox since you can still eat and drink normally. All it really was just a couple of extra trips to the little girls room, pretty harmless.

Sooooo now for some results! I have yet to take measurements, I plan on doing that before I move onto Level 2. But today was my WW weigh-in and holy cow! I lost 4.2 pounds!! That is the most I have lost in one week and I am floored! I’m definitely caught up from last week’s 1.8 lb gain and then I lost another 2.4 more! Seriously though, I think this is a turning point for me to keep working really hard and keep seeing the number on that scale go down! I know I may gain a little back in water weight but with such a big jump, I only want to keep it up!

In total, I have lost 15.2 lbs since I started Weight Watchers and it’s time I find new pants! Seriously, I’m about 2 lbs away from pants on the ground as you can see! photo (19) (Ignore the chin, that comes next!). It has been another exciting week of realizing I can do this. Even on the days when I don’t think I will be successful, I’ve started mastering the little voice in my head that usually led to giving up or giving in. Turns out that if I just keep moving in all things, not just physical exercise, I find it harder and harder to not get something done. For example, instead of coming home and just hitting the couch right away after dinner, I refuse to sit down until I either do the dishes or sweep the floor or get some laundry done. The point is, keep moving, get more done, be more successful! I still get to watch my evening TV eventually (which is one of those things I simply refuse to give up) but it’s so much more relaxing knowing I got  some extra activity points and a lot of legitimate to do’s crossed off the list! I mean, who doesn’t like waking up to less or no dishes in the sink? Exactly!

I’m curious, what do you do when you know you should just keep moving around? Those extra minutes can really add up! Aside from chores, I do other things at work like switching form a 24 oz water bottle to a 12 oz cup so that I have to get up and walk to water cooler at the end of the hall more often at work. Your turn!

❤ Wishing you sweet dreams and sweaty workouts Unfluffers!

4 thoughts on “Weigh-In: Week 1 of 30 Day Shred Complete!

  1. That’s amazing! Today was my first day at the 30 day shred and I have been out of exercise for the last 3 months. I couldn’t survive the drill after 16 minutes and completely gave up in the last cardio session. I hope it gets better from here!

Leave a Reply

