Dude, where’s my bandwagon?

Soo it’s been a really long weekend full of celebrations. Rehearsal dinner on Friday, wedding on Saturday, daughter’s birthday party Sunday, daughter’s actual birthday today. I have been on the go for days on end and I can’t even tell you all of the indulgent things I have eaten or drank. All I can say was that there was a lot of alcohol Saturday followed by endless cake up until today. There was certainly exercise though: dancing for almost a solid 3 hours Saturday night ( mostly in heels) and staying on my feet for over 6 hours straight cooking and doing party prep and FINALLY a 2 mile run today.

Ok, here’s a pause for some picture awesomeness from this weekend!

all dolled up for a wedding!
all dolled up for a wedding!
My homemade Funfetti Cake!
My homemade Funfetti Cake!
so many presents!
so many presents!
hittin' up molly's cupcakes on birthday day!
hittin’ up molly’s cupcakes on birthday day!

I have to admit though, aside from getting my diet back on track, I also need to get my fitness organized again. In the beginning, it was just do what I can to move more. Then I did 30 day shred, followed by the start of a 60 day 5K training program. All of these things had a structure to them and I stayed motivated because I saw results very quickly. Now all of those things have ended and now I feel like I’m at a loss for what I should do next. Fortunately, there are lunch hour group classes available at work Monday-Thursday which I am definitely going to be doing (especially yoga, that’s my jam). But as for running I don’t know if I should just start the 5K training again or just try to run 30 min every other day…I just don’t know. I just know that I want to keep that up! I do have Insanity at home but it involves a lot of jumping which in a 2nd floor apartment with hardwood floors at 5 am is no bueno. Plus, I’m not sure if I’m up for this particular kind of intense workout. I’d rather let Jillian verbally assault me if it means she’s doing it at a slower pace.

Like Brooke from Brooke Not On A Diet mentioned on Instagram tonight, there needs to be a new plan! I did jump onto the Runner’s World Summer Challenge to run a mile day from Memorial Day to Independence Day. This challenge was brought to my attention by Roni from Roni’s Weigh fierce leader of Fitbloggin’! But I want a little more, especially now that I have Fitbloggin’ to get ready for in less than 30 days! Am I over thinking this? Should I just take it easy and do my own thang? Maybe just commit to exercising for a certain time frame or amount of calories burned a day? Any DVD or low cost/free program out there? I’m afraid if I don’t come up with something soon I’ll slip off into bad habit land, never to be heard from or seen again!

Weigh-In tomorrow! Night night.

2 thoughts on “Dude, where’s my bandwagon?

  1. Nike plus has a custom goal setting thing that will customize a plan for you to get there. So you could set it for maybe a 10k next.

    YouTube has a ton of free exercise programs on it.

    And look up the Wave Shape 30 day challenge. I just came across that a couple days ago. Starts on Saturday. Seems kind of fun. It’s free. 🙂

    Good luck! I know how it goes staying motivated without a specific goal. I like to find addictive group classes or sign up for races that I have to train for.

Leave a Reply

