Race Recap: The Color Run Chicago 2013

20130616-190529.jpgOh my! I’ve been so caught up with other stuff this week I forgot to give you a race recap of my very first 5K ever! Well, I take that back. I walked Race for A Cure a few years ago but this is the first time I have ever prepped to run a race.

On Sunday, I had the pleasure of meeting up with my girlfriends/sorority sisters for what I would call a running/walking party. The Color Run is an untimed race in which you agree to be doused in heavily pigmented powder while you move about the course. The race pack includes a white t shirt, a white sweatband embroidered with “Color Runner” on it, a “The Color Run” tattoo, race bib and your very own packet of color. Mine was orange. Since my bestie Liz picked up my race pack for me, I’m stealing her picture of what it all looked like.

We agreed to meet up before the race on Sunday morning and head over together as a group. Preparations for the start line included checking out people’s white or rainbow tutus, saying hi to the group who chose to dress up as white unicorns, and prepping our faces with our tattoos which only ended up working out the best on me as tatting it up on the street does not guarantee a clean tat-to-skin transfer.

It was a gorgeous day but even at 8 in the morning it was already hot! I have never run in more than 76 degrees so it was a first for me. The race took place entirely downtown, with most of Congress shut down from Balbo to Randolph. This was probably the best thing about the race, getting to run in the middle of downtown Chicago with skyscrapers on one side and Lake Michigan on the other! Beautiful if I do say so myself!

 

20130616-190600.jpg
What an awesome view from the train on the way in!

As our wave started, i was really excited to get going. I also realized i was pretty serious about this whole running thing. A lot of people, including my friends walked this bad boy out but i was determined to run as much as i could. This proved to be difficult because every half mile or so there was a color station in which volunteers stood around barrels full of color powder and doused you with it. People went nuts over these stations, begging to get coated, throwing powder at friends and on themselves. Some even went as far as getting on the ground to make color dust angels. But i was not having any of it, i tried moving through the stations as quickly as i could, covering my face with my shirt to avoid inhaling the stuff (note to self: next time wear a bandana on the face). Despite the stations that forced me to walk through, i only voluntarily walked for 2 minutes just a little ways away from the finish. Like i said, it was really hot and my body was asking me to take it easy and not kill myself over a casual, untimed run. I should have brought a small bottle of water with me in my converted purse-fanny pack. I have no idea what my time was, my running apps couldn’t get gps in the area but it looked like i finished in about 40 minutes which is the pace i had been keeping on my own.

owder but it looked like everyone had a really good time! I would do it again, but maybe make a few adjustments like something to cover my nose and mouth from the powder and also a much more creative running outfit! The color powder really follows you around though! It’s still on my shoes, I had to loofah my entire body when I got home and me, mancakes and babycakes all produced blue and green boogers until Tuesday. Ewwwww.

Overall, it was a blast and I would maaaaybe do it again. I will say that if you’re looking for a fun run with your kids, this is it!

❤ M.

 

4 thoughts on “Race Recap: The Color Run Chicago 2013

Leave a Reply

