Project Unfluff Project #2: What’s A Crash Diet Like?

*Yes, there once was a Project Unfluff Project #1 that was to make over my basement for a work out space but the ceiling is too low and then later it flooded and got kind of nasty so that’s out!

For those who have been following my journey for a while, you know full well that I have made my progress through tracking points (now calories since I’m off of weight watchers :-/ ), exercise and healthy eating. Although I have often thought about changing my life for the better, I never considered doing anything too crazy that required pre-made meals/shakes/bars/pills/gels etc. Quite frankly, those things kind of scare me and I’ve seen and heard plenty of stories from people who have tried some wacky things to lose weight only to eventually give up and gain the weight back (and then some for most).

So when I came back from FitBloggin and looked through all of my swag (<– this post has a giveaway going on until July 12!) I had no idea what to do with the 30 day supply of the Nutrilite Body Key system we were all offered. I took the kit home thinking I’ll take a look, maybe I’ll give it away or try it out. I showed it to mancakes and asked him if he wanted to share the kit with me, or if I should try it on my own. After thinking about it, I didn’t feel right about actually giving it away to a reader because like I said, I don’t really believe in this stuff and I wouldn’t encourage you to do it.

BUT, I have never been through a quick-fix, crash diet and I’ve always wondered what it’s like to ingest all of that craziness, replace a meal with a shake, and take supplements/energy pill thingies. If you are doing something like this or did something like this in the past, I’m not trying to be offensive. I know a lot of people have found success with weight loss systems but it takes persistance, money and in some cases a lifetime of commitment to these kinds of products in order to maintain your weight loss. I know in my heart this is not the kind of weight loss I want to try nor attempt to maintain.

This is why I WANT to try the body key system. I know it sounds crazy and backwards from everything I have ever said. But I also think it’s arrogant to walk around and say I would never try something like this without being able to empathize with those of you that have tried something like this. Curiosity always gets the best of me, it’s what makes me who I am! Mancakes is going to be my partner in crime with this one and I’m glad because this means I’ll only do 2 weeks of the dang thing instead of 4 (high five mancakes!).

So here’s what the Body Key System supplies looks like:

Chocolate Meal Replacement Shake, Appetite Suppressing Chews (eat one, drink 8 oz water to ward off hunger) and aloe vera shots for the first two days. Not pictured: Slimmetry pills (take 2 20-30 min before each meal)
Chocolate Meal Replacement Shake, Appetite Suppressing Chews (eat one, drink 8 oz water to ward off hunger) and aloe vera shots for the first two days. Not pictured: Slimmetry pills (take 2 20-30 min before each meal)

So my understanding is that you replace one meal a day with a shake and take the Slimmetry pills everyday before each meal. There are 4 aloe vera shots in the kit for the first 2 days of the plan, 1 in the morning, 1 in the late afternoon. I did mine today as you can see:

It's not that bad, tastes like sour apple juice. Hence the cringing.
It’s not that bad, tastes like sour apple juice. Hence the cringing.

The fruit chews I have yet to try but mancakes did one today. You chew one up, drink 8 oz of water with it and it’s supposed to ward off hunger until your next meal. He says it worked for him. As for the shake, we both decided we are going to do the shakes for our lunches. Mancakes really enjoyed his shake today, I’m on the fence. The flavor is ok but I prepped it with water. Tomorrow I think I’ll make it with unsweetened almond milk and a scoop or two of PB2 to make it more interesting and maybe a little more satisfying. I was pretty hungry most of the day after lunch. I worked out at 2 and then ate my snack of greek yogurt and a peach followed by a SoyJoy bar on my way home. That helped but I think my metabolism burns pretty hot these days and I think that’s why I stayed pretty hungry.

Top: Lunch and snacks on Body Key (red square is the appetite chew) Bottom: what I usually pack for lunch
Top: Lunch and snacks on Body Key (red square is the appetite chew) Bottom: what I usually pack for lunch

Overall, day one was a bit rough. We’ll see how the next 13 go. Stay tuned!

❀ M.

9 thoughts on “Project Unfluff Project #2: What’s A Crash Diet Like?

  1. Very interesting, I didn’t know what to do with my kit either…I can’t use the plan because I’m pregnant but I have a friend who is interested in this kind of thing and hoping to lose some weight before her wedding in October so she is going to try it out!

  2. we’ll see how long i last! i really, really like to chew and ingest food. πŸ˜‰

    let me know how it works out for your friend! i would imagine replacing one meal a day alone with 165 cal shake will definitely take off some serious pounds but I can also imagine the gain back after would be bad….

  3. So do you just replace one meal a day with the shake and eat a normal balanced diet the rest of the day? I was expecting more instruction in the kit….Like you, I dislike to my core, crash or fad diets, but I haven’t ever actually did one either so I was curious to just test it so I could have honest “I actually tried it” thoughts.

    • Yes, it’s 1 meal replacement shake a day. The aloe shots are for the first 2 days, one morning, one later afternoon. The pills are to be taken 20-30 min before each meal and the chews are for whenever you to need to suppress all the hungries!!!

  4. I’m using the protein powder for the kids’ “cream” with milk, banana, peanut butter and a scoop of the powder. They didn’t love the taste. I CAN NOT drink my meals. Just can’t do it.

  5. You are totally on the right track. Hey, the key is that loosing weight is not difficult, it just takes commitment to a routine–which is tough to do folks! Here’s my change: 1 – Exercise. 2 – Eat smaller portions. 3 – Drink tons of water. 4 – Supplements: I used: http://www.amazon.com/Garcinia-VitAssist-Suppressant-Supplement-Guarantee/dp/B00C8AK72G 5 – Eliminate Alcohol, Carbs, Sugar and the bad stuff. The results are down 24 pounds in 8 weeks. You keep it up, it WILL pay off!

Leave a Reply

