Weekly Weigh In: Riding This Weight Roller Coaster

I have been a very busy lady these days. The weekend that just passed plus the next two are completely booked and I have just been trying to manage my schedule around getting things done, taking time to relax and squeezing in health and fitness where I can.

This week’s weigh-in:

bear weight

Last week’s weigh-in, I was up 1.2 lbs from the week before, only to weigh in at -1.6 lbs the next day! My weight is literally changing everyday and although I know that’s normal (I weigh in at the same time each time) it’s also a tad frustrating. I’ve been dancing around the same 3-4ish pounds for what seems like at least a month now. A lot of that has to do with the fact that I have been taking full advantage of summer time which not only means getting outside more and being more active but also enjoying the vacation lifestyle (read: rich food, alcohol, snacks, etc). I’ve been doing this since I ran off to Portland in June for Fitbloggin’ and every other weekend it’s been the same kind of party in U.S.A. type of life. Don’t get me wrong, I am not regretting any of it. I’m actually welcoming it because unlike my past when I would indulge, indulge, indulge then pass out, I find myself getting up to run, swim, walk and find some vegetation to eat even on vacation.

The difference on how I used to “relax” is virtually night and day. The food and drinks at barbecues and festivals and conferences and resorts has not changed, but I have. Or I should say, WE have at Casa Unfluff. Before leaving town on Friday, mancakes went off and bought road trip snacks for the Dells which for us usually means chips, jerky and candy for the road. I was elated when he picked me up and we had a cooler full of hummus, mini peppers, cubed cheese, mini sausages, sliced apples and sliced pears. All food that was not only healthier but more useful in giving us energy for the 4 hour car ride. Babycakes appreciated it too, she could eat cheese all day.

So even with another conference this weekend and another road trip next week, I know that if I keep squeezing in my workouts and staying on top of my food game whenever I can, I really have no reason to be upset about the +1.2’s and -1.2’s here and there. The way I see it, if it’s the same weight jumping on and off my scale screen I’m still really happy about it because I’m not the person I was a year ago who just did all of these summer things without any control and let my weight keep creeping up without doing anything about it. I’m meeting myself in the middle right now so that I can still enjoy myself and have a good time. And I know that this right here, this is what maintenance will look like when I get there. This is just a taste of the day-to-day balance that’s going to happen when I’ve reached my set point.

So, hello 1.2 lbs, you’ll probably be gone by Friday only to resurface next Tuesday once the damage of my conference is done. And then I’ll make you disappear again by next Friday only to return from a 7 hour road trip that will more than likely bring you back. And I’m ok with that because I’m making memories while still taking charge of my health.

Here are a few interesting articles I found about Summer Weight Gain, cuz it’s a thing people!

Air Conditioning and Weight Gain

Reasons Why We Gain Weight in the Summer

Why Children Gain Weight in the Summer

❤ M.

3 thoughts on “Weekly Weigh In: Riding This Weight Roller Coaster

Leave a Reply

