The Idea of Self-Compassion

Have I told you how much I love the blog A Black Girl’s Guide to Weight Loss? Erika Nicole Kendall kills it talking about everything under the sun from body image to race and culture, sex to weight loss, politics to media, class to fitness and clean eating. I came across this hugely profound post about Self-Compassion and Weight Loss. Wow. It really hit home. Check out a few of my favorite parts:

“The research suggests that giving ourselves a break and accepting our imperfections may be the first step toward better health. People who score high on tests of self-compassion have less depression and anxiety, and tend to be happier and more optimistic. Preliminary data suggest that self-compassion can even influence how much we eat and may help some people lose weight.”

Excerpted from Self-Compassion: A Key Factor In Weight Loss | A Black Girl’s Guide To Weight Loss

And this too:

“I will admit, though, that I think there’s something missing from this entire conversation: people feel an inability to exercise restraint with food because, more often than not, they’re dealing with processed foods that alter their ability to “eat just one.” The fact that I couldn’t control myself when it came to certain foods was something that’d cause me to beat myself up a little bit, too. I can admit that.

See? That’s an example of self-compassion. My admitting that I wouldn’t have been able to control myself or lose my weight if I were still around processed foods? That’s me being compassionate to myself, being sympathetic to my shortcomings… instead of acting like my shortcomings don’t have to be acknowledged because some mystical mental power should exist to save me (and then calling myself an idiot, a loser and a failure for not being able to tap into it.)”

Excerpted from Self-Compassion: A Key Factor In Weight Loss | A Black Girl’s Guide To Weight Loss

Whoa. Look at that! You see how profound this language is? Imagine instead of beating yourself up for something you ate or did/didn’t do, you have a real conversation with yourself about what went wrong, why it happened, forgiving yourself and moving on. Forgiving yourself and moving on. Much like you would with someone you love and truly care about. Imagine that, treating yourself the same way you treat and care for others. That is powerful and that can go a really long way.

I’ve been there, sometimes I go back to that place where I feel guilty and beat myself up. But then I think about where I am today compared to where I was before I started this journey and I realize that I’ve made it this far because I chose to practice self-compassion instead. I started making healthier choices because I finally started engaging in self-care. When I fall off the wagon, I’m realizing it’s because I switched over to practicing willpower and failing instead of self-compassion and feeling cared for.

Does make sense? I sure hope so!

Cuz this post needed a picture.
Cuz this post needed a picture.

Anywho, how about another blog shout out? Thanks to Brooke from Brooke Not On A Diet for hosting the Back To Basics Challenge in September. I practiced a few of Brooke’s basic rules to healthy living and weight loss and I felt great! To be honest, I only lost a pound this month after practicing Scale-Less September and weighing in for the first time this morning. It’s not much but I’m ok with it and this was certainly one of those “do what you can” months in which I spent at least 2 weeks fighting off feelings of yuckiness and fatigue due to some harsh allergies and an uptick in some of my vitamin deficiencies (super low Vitamin D and low in Iron). I started up my Vitamin D and Iron supplements a little over a week ago and those have helped bring my energy back up so it’s back to the gym I go! Yesterday I got in a 2 mile run on the treadmill and today I got in 30 minutes of walking at lunch. I’m hoping to get back the cardio group classes at lunch starting tomorrow. I’m glad to be getting back to it!

What are your goals for October?

3 thoughts on “The Idea of Self-Compassion

Leave a Reply

