I Am Not Beyoncé

When it’s been a while since I’ve last written, I usually make up some sob story of why I’m not around but I won’t be doing that today.

Instead, I want to start with a joke:

Knock, knock.

Who’s There?

Not Beyoncé

Uh…not Beyoncé, who?

I’m not Beyoncé so stop trying to motivate me with this “inspirational” meme:

beyonce1
Original Source
Let’s just point out the obvious here: Yes, Beyoncé and I each get 24 hours in a day. Yes, Beyoncé is a woman and a mother. Yes, Beyoncé is gorgeous, charismatic and witty. These are the only things I have in common with Beyoncé (especially that last one, obviously).

What I don’t have in a day that she has is over $350 Million in net worth with an equally rich husband and an entire fleet of human beings on their payroll to do the majority of the small, trivial things that have to get done everyday so she can keep creating, writing, singing, dancing, mothering, producing and inspiring.

I can barely sweep my floors and clean up the toys in my living room. As a proud member of the 99% of people who are not living like Beyoncé, I cannot begin to feel motivated when someone tells me that we have the same daily allotment of time to shatter goals and accomplish so much. I don’t respond to that. I respond to the feeling I get when I can see the color of my hardwood again or moving my body intentionally for 30 sweaty minutes or ordering that frozen margarita at the end of the work week because I kept our family budget from going off a cliff.

Showing me a Beyoncé video will not get me to a gym. Finding me a woman who was able to keep it real when her colleagues want to appoint her to do yet another thing and says no so that her daily walks can still fit into her schedule would blow my mind. Hell, someone make a video of a parent not hitting the snooze but getting up at 5 am to run and I will finally feel like I can do it too, like I used to. Speaking of which, this video also does not inspire me whatsoever but it’s not meant for me, it’s obviously meant for someone that does not have young kids:

The point of all of this is not to say that memes and videos are the only way I seek out the motivation to do things. But I do think that when you spend enough time on social media and on websites, it’s easy to get inundated with so many how-to’s that you end up just sitting there and watching/reading and not actually DOING. When was the last time you watched or read something that immediately had you get up and try it? Did you really do the Kondo method on your home to get rid of 90% of your things and if so, did you really roll your socks instead of ball them up before you put them back in your drawers because you care about them? Did you order that workout program and get to it right away? And if you managed to really truly follow through with getting started, are you still doing it now?

Like, who just up and said, that’s it, I’m doing it and despite children, little to no disposable income and already having a full time job and other commitments, just did that that thing that got you to the next level?! And if it’s you, how do you manage? When do you sleep? Do you know Beyoncé? Can you introduce me? I digress.

Maybe what I should be doing is making response memes that you get printed on a t-shirt! For example:

SALE (3)SALE (2)

I smell an etsy shop cooking….

❤ M.

 

One thought on “I Am Not Beyoncé

Leave a Reply

